How Do I?
This is the "General Information" page of the "Off-Campus Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Off-Campus Research Guide   Tags: distance-education, off-campus, research  

This guide will help students navigate Seton Hall University Libraries electronic resources from off-campus.
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2012 URL: http://shu.libguides.com/off-campus Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ask-A-Librarian

 

How do I....?

 

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

General Information--How Do I.....?

 

GET HELP?
Reference Desk 973-761-9437 or Ask a Librarian  For help accessing or using
SetonCat or any online database, getting started on research, formulating search strategies, or any research question

Information Technology Help Desk 973-275-2222 Problems with Email ID and password, or other technical issues 

 

FIND THE LIBRARY DATABASES?

Did you know that MOST OF OUR JOURNALS ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE THROUGH OUR DATABASES? To look at the list of databases the library subscribes to :

  •  Click on "Databases" link under the "Getting Started" rubric

  • Click on one of the databases in the database "Getting Started:" list  
     
                                                         OR
  •  Click on the "find by subject" drop-down menu to find the best database for your work


GET INTO THE ONLINE DATABASES FROM HOME? Do I need special passwords?
There are two ways of accessing the databases: through a network connection and through a proxy server. Most databases will allow you to come in by using your SHU email user name and password. Others require a unique password. These unique passwords can be obtained online with your SHU email user name and password as well.

**Special passwords page: http://www.shu.edu/academics/libraries/articles.cfm

 

LOCATE E-JOURNALS?

  • Click on the library home-page link
  • Click on the Articles and Journals link in the left-hand column of the library home page
  • Click on the e-journals link
  • Type the journal title in the Find: box
  • Select your journal by title from the list (if we subscribe)
  • A list of databases containing that journal will appear
  • Choose a database from the list that matches the date you need.

 

BORROW BOOKS?
You will have to come to the Seton Hall Library to check out books located in our collections.

You may wish to find out about library privileges closer to home. Many libraries, both public and academic, allow visitors to use books, journals and other materials in the library and/or make copies of them. Your local public library is a good place to start. You may want to inquire about visitor policies at college and university libraries in your area. Borrowing privileges may be free through local cooperative library agreements or by paying a monthly or annual fee. 

Seton Hall University participates in E-ZBorrow* program offered by PALCI (Pennsylvania Academic
Library Consortium Inc.) for resource-sharing. PALCI membership includes 76 Pennsylvania, New Jersey and West Virginia libraries. You may initiate book loan requests from your computer on campus or from a remote site.

 The onsite Reciprocal Borrowing Program** of VALE (Virtual Academic Library Environment), a consortium of 47 New Jersey academic libraries, is available to Seton Hall faculty and students. Before visiting a lending library, you need a form, “VALE Reciprocal Borrowing Application”, signed by a Seton Hall librarian at the Circulation Desk. For details about these extended services, please contact Reference Desk at (973) 761-9437.


ACCESS ELECTRONIC RESERVE?
Course reserve materials are made available electronically through the Internet to students anytime. Using the Course Reserve module of SetonCat, you can search for reserve material by the instructor's name or the course name. Detailed instructions on accessing this material is on the Distance Learning Page under How to Access e-Reserve.


OBTAIN A BOOK OR ARTICLE FROM ANOTHER LIBRARY?
Interlibrary Loan is a service that allows you to request books and journal articles that the Library doesn't own. This can be done by filling out and interlibrary loan form online. You can ask that the journal articles be sent directly to your home. As of now, you must pick up books you have requested at the circulation desk at Walsh Library.

 
 
400 South Orange Avenue; South Orange, NJ 07079-2671
973-761-9435 Telephone; 973-761-9432 Fax

Updated on 01/07/10

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip