What's new?
Books on and by Mo Yan, The Nobel Prize in Literature 2012
China Digital Library by Apabi (中华数字书苑) contains about a thousand e-books in Chinese selected by the librarians, teaching faculty and students.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
China Academic Journals (CNKI) on Literature, History and Philosophy I (English interface)
includes more than 700 journals in the subject areas.
World News Connections (WNC)
is an extremely valuable research tool for anyone who needs to monitor non-U.S. media sources. The material in WNC is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Open Source Center (OSC). Analysts from OSC domestic and overseas bureaus monitor timely and pertinent open-source materials.
China Data Online
Includes China macroeconomy statistics; census by province and county; import/export data; China news online; industrial Surveys and market summaries; atlas of China, and population by township.
Seton Hall University Libraries Asian Studies Research Guide
Welcome to the University Libraries Asian Studies research guide. I hope it will bring you and Asian Studies-related resources together, and help you to find and enjoy all that our library has to offer.
Located on the 4th floor of Walsh Library (see photos), the Asian Studies Collection contains ancient, modern and contemporary Chinese, Japanese and Korean materials in the humanities and social sciences. This collection has over 13,000+ titles (approximately 10,000+ in Chinese, 2,000 in Japanese and 300 in Korean in 2011), and databases in Chinese for researchers and students in the field of Asian studies. Three valuable titles, worthy of special mentioning, include 1) Si Ku Quan Shu (the Four Treasures), a collection of 36, 381 volumes of Confucian classics, Chinese history, philosophy, and literature, 2) Zhonghua Da Zang Jing (Tripitaka), the three major collections of 3,900 volumes of Buddhist scriptures, and 3) Dao Zang, a collection of 5,485 volumes of Daoist writing. In addition, Walsh Library has 12,000+ book titles in English relating to Asia, China, Japan, Korea, and India. Seton Hall’s Asian Studies Collection supports programs in Asian Studies, art history, business and economics, cultural anthropology, history, language, law, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, public policy, religion and sociology.
Getting Started
Catalogs for Books
- NEW SEARCH TOOL - Search multiple databases, journals and books
- SetonCat
- E-ZBorrow
- Seton Hall University WorldCat local
- Academic Search Complete

- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
- CQ Researcher

- Dissertations & Theses
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Gender NewsWatch

- LexisNexis Academic

- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

- Proquest Multiple Databases

Other Internet Resources for Searching Primary Sources
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Xue-Ming Bao, M.L.S., Ed.D. Systems Librarian and Associate Professor Seton Hall University Libraries 400 South Orange Avenue South Orange, NJ 07079-2671 973-275-2399 (O) Send Email |



Loading...
